Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair)
Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital

Professor A E Ades
Professor of Public Health Science, Department of Community Based Medicine, University of Bristol

Elizabeth Brain
Lay Member

Dr Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Christopher Earl
Surgical Care Practitioner, Renal Transplant Unit, Manchester Royal Infirmary

John Goulston
Chief Executive, Barking, Havering and Redbridge Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital

Professor Philip Home (Vice Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner, The Firs, London

Dr Ian Lewin
Consultant Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Louise Longworth
Reader in Health Economics, Health Economics Research Group, Brunel University

Dr Alec Miners
Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr James Moon
Consultant Cardiologist and Senior Lecturer, University College London Hospital (UCLH) and UCL

Dr Nick Murray
Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Medical Oncology, University of Southampton

Dr David Newsham
Lecturer (Orthoptics), University of Liverpool

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay Member

Angela Schofield
Chairman, Bournemouth and Poole Teaching Primary Care Trust (PCT)

Mike Spencer
General Manager, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board – Facilities and Clinical Support Services

Professor Iain Squire
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

David Thomson
Lay Member

William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Dr Luke Twelves
General Practitioner, Ramsey Health Centre, Cambridgeshire

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Cardiff University and National Public Health Service Wales

Dr Anthony S Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Olivia Wu
Reader in Health Economics, University of Glasgow

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

João Vieira
Technical Lead

Eleanor Donegan
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)