Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Kathryn Abel
Reader and Consultant Psychiatrist/Director of Centre for Women's Mental Health, University of Manchester

Dr David Black
Director of Public Health, Derbyshire County Primary Care Trust, Chesterfield

Dr Daniele Bryden
Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine/Anaesthesia, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Andrew Burnett
Director for Health Improvement/Medical Director, NHS Barnet, London

David Chandler
Lay member

Dr Mary Cooke
Lecturer, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Manchester

Dr Chris Cooper
General Practitioner, St John's Way Medical Centre, London

Professor Peter Crome
Consultant Physician,Bucknall Hospital. Stoke-on-Trent

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance Research and Development Unit, York

Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs and Reimbursement Manager UK and Ireland, Medtronic, Watford

Dr Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Wasim Hanif
Consultant Physician and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University Hospital Birmingham

Dr Alan Haycox
Reader in Health Economics, University of Liverpool Management School

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Henry Marsh
Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Gary McVeigh
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queens University Belfast and Consultant Physician, Belfast City Hospital

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Regional Director of Public Health, North East Strategic Health Authority, Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Neil Myers
General Practitioner, Glasgow

Dr Richard Nakielny
Consultant Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economics Research Fellow, University of Manchester

Dr Danielle Preedy
Lay member

Dr Peter Selby
Consultant Physician, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Surinder Sethi
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, North West Specialised Services Commissioning Team, Warrington

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Matt Stevenson
Technical Director, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Professor Paul Trueman
Health Economics Research Group, Brunel University, Uxbridge

Dr Judith Wardle
Lay member

B Guideline representative

The following individual, representing the Guideline Development Group responsible for developing NICE's clinical guideline related to this topic, was invited to attend the meeting to observe and to contribute as an adviser to the Committee.

  • Peter Pratt, Sheffield Health and Social Care NHS Foundation Trust

C NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Fay McCracken/Scott Goulden
Technical Leads

Fiona Rinaldi
Technical Adviser

Lori Farrar
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)