9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ Technology Assessment Group (BMJ‑TAG):

  • Edwards SJ, Barton S, Thurgar E et al. Bevacizumab for the treatment of recurrent advanced ovarian cancer: a single technology appraisal. BMJ‑TAG, November 2012.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Roche Products (bevacizumab)

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Ovacome

  • Ovarian Cancer Action

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Target Ovarian Cancer

  • United Kingdom Oncology Nursing Society

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Assembly Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):


  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Eli Lilly (gemcitabine)

  • Health Improvement Scotland

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • Pfizer (pegylated liposomal doxorubicin hydrochloride)

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on bevacizumab by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Jonathan A Ledermann, Professor of Medical Oncology, UCL Cancer Institute and Clinical Director Cancer Services UCL Hospitals, nominated by organisation representing Royal College of Physicians (NCRI/RCP/RCR/ACP/JCCO) – clinical specialist

  • Professor Charlie Gourley, Professor of Medical Oncology, nominated by organisation representing Royal College of Physicians (NCRI/RCP/RCR/ACP/JCCO) – clinical specialist

  • Mrs Annie Chillingworth, nominated by organisation representing Ovarian Cancer Action – patient expert

  • Dr Sharon Tate, Public Affairs Manager, nominated by organisation representing Target Ovarian Cancer – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Roche Products

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)