8 Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

8.1 Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair)
Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Iain Squire (Vice-Chair)
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Professor Thanos Athanasiou
Professor of Cardiovascular Sciences and Cardiac Surgery, Imperial College London; Consultant Cardiothoracic Surgeon, Imperial College Healthcare NHS Trust

Dr Jeremy Braybrooke
Consultant Medical Oncologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Gerardine Bryant
GP, Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Dr Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital

Mr Andrew England
Lecturer in Medical Imaging, NIHR Fellow, University of Liverpool

Professor Jonathan Grigg
Professor of Paediatric Respiratory and Environmental Medicine, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University London

Dr Brian Hawkins
Chief Pharmacist, Cwm Taf Health Board, South Wales

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Sharon Saint Lamont
Head of Quality and Innovation, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Ian Lewin
Consultant Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Anne McCune
Consultant Hepatologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Professor John McMurray
Professor of Medical Cardiology, University of Glasgow

Dr Mohit Misra
GP, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, London

Ms Sarah Parry
CNS Paediatric Pain Management, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

Ms Pamela Rees
Lay Member

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay Member

Dr Paul Robinson
Medical Director, Merck Sharp & Dohme

Ms Ellen Rule
Programme Director, NHS Bristol

Mr Stephen Sharp
Senior Statistician, MRC Epidemiology Unit

Dr Peter Sims
GP, Devon

Dr Eldon Spackman
Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Mr David Thomson
Lay Member

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer, Cardiff University; Consultant in Public Health Medicine, National Public Health Service Wales

Dr Olivia Wu
Reader in Health Economics, University of Glasgow

8.2 Guideline representatives

The following individuals, representing the Guideline Development Group responsible for developing NICE's clinical guideline related to this topic, were invited to attend the meeting to observe and to contribute as advisers to the Committee.

Dr Anthony RB Smith
Consultant Gynaecologist (urinary incontinence clinical guideline development group Chair)

8.3 NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Dr Grace Jennings
Technical Lead

Dr Kay Nolan (until March 2013)
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)