7 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

7 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ Group:

  • Edward SJ, Krause T, Trevor N, Lois N, Thurgar EJ, Barton S. Ocriplasmin for the treatment of vitreomacular traction: A Single Technology Appraisal. BMJ Technology Assessment Group, 2013

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • ThromboGenics

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Macular Society

  • Royal National Institute of Blind People (RNIB)

  • British and Eire Association of Vitreo Retinal Surgeons

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Ophthalmologists

  • Royal College of Pathologists

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on Ocriplasmin for the treatment of vitreomacular traction by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Andrew Lotery, Professor of Ophthalmology, nominated by RNIB ‑ clinical specialist

  • Ian Pearce, Consultant Ophthalmologist, nominated by Royal College of Ophthalmologists – clinical specialist

  • Tim Jackson, Consultant Ophthalmic surgeon, nominated by ThromboGenics – clinical specialist

  • Cathy Yelf, nominated by Macular Society ‑ patient expert

  • Linda Buxton, nominated by RNIB ‑ patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • ThromboGenics

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)