8 Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

8 Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair)
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Dr Ray Armstrong
Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Peter Crome
Consultant Geriatrician and Professor of Geriatric Medicine

Dr Neil Iosson
General Practitioner

Anne Joshua
Associate Director of Pharmacy, NHS Direct

Dr Rebecca Kearney
Clinical Lecturer, University of Warwick

Terence Lewis
Lay Member

Dr Miriam McCarthy
Consultant, Public Health, Public Health Agency

Dr Elizabeth Murray
Reader in Primary Care, University College London

Professor Stephen Palmer
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Sanjeev Patel
Consultant Physician & Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, St Helier University Hospital

Dr Danielle Preedy
Lay Member

Dr John Rodriguez
Assistant Director of Public Health, NHS Eastern and Coastal Kent

Alun Roebuck
Consultant Nurse in Critical and Acute Care, United Lincolnshire NHS Trust

Roderick Smith
Chief Finance Officer, Coastal West Sussex Clinical Commissioning Group

Cliff Snelling
Lay Member

Marta Soares
Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

David Thomson
Lay Member

Dr Nicky Welton
Senior Lecturer in Biostatistics/Health Technology Assessment, University of Bristol

Guideline representatives

The following person, observing the Committee meeting on behalf of the Guideline Development Group, was invited to provide comments on this document.

Dr Emmert Roberts
Research Fellow, National Clinical Guideline Centre, Royal College of Physicians

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Richard Diaz
Technical Lead

Fiona Pearce
Technical Adviser

Jeremy Powell
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)