8 Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

8 Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

8.1 Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Lindsay Smith (Chair)
General Practitioner, West Coker Surgery, Somerset

Dr Andrew Black (Vice Chair)
General Practitioner, Mortimer Medical Practice, Herefordshire

Professor David Bowen
Consultant Haematologist, Leeds Teaching Hospitals NHS trust

Dr Ian Davidson
Lecturer in Rehabilitation, University of Manchester

Professor Simon Dixon
Professor of Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Dr Martin Duerden
Assistant Medical Director, Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board, North Wales

Dr Alexander Dyker
Consultant Physician, Wolfson Unit of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Newcastle

Gillian Ells
Prescribing Advisor – Commissioning, NHS Hastings and Rother and NHS East Sussex Downs and Weald

Professor Paula Ghaneh
Professor and Honorary Consultant Surgeon, University of Liverpool

Professor Carol Haigh
Professor in Nursing, Manchester Metropolitan University

Dr Paul Hepple
General Practitioner, Muirhouse Medical Group

Professor John Hutton
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Professor Steven Julious
Professor in Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Dr Tim Kinnaird
Lead Interventional Cardiologist, University Hospital of Wales, Cardiff

Dr Warren Linley
Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics and Medicines Evaluation, Bangor University

Dr Malcolm Oswald
Lay member

Professor Femi Oyebode
Professor of Psychiatry and Consultant Psychiatrist, The National Centre for Mental Health

Dr John Radford
Director of Public Health, Rotherham Primary Care Trust and MBC

Dr Murray Smith
Associate Professor in Social Research in Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

8.2 NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Helen Tucker
Technical Lead

Eleanor Donegan
Technical Adviser

Kate Moore
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)