9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group (LRiG):

  • Fleeman N, Bagust A, Beale S et al. Afatinib for treating epidermal growth factor receptor mutation positive locally advanced or metastatic non-small cell lung cancer: a single technology appraisal, December 2013.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope. Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on afatinib by providing a written statement to the Committee. Organisations listed in I, II and III have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation

  • British Thoracic Society

  • Cancer Research UK

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety – Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • AstraZeneca

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb

  • Lilly UK

  • Pfizer

  • Pierre Fabre

  • Roche Products

  • British Thoracic Oncology Group

  • Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on afatinib by providing oral evidence to the Committee.

  • Professor Michael Lind, Foundation Professor of Oncology, nominated by Boehringer Ingelheim – clinical specialist

  • Dr Clive Mulatero, Consultant Medical Oncologist, nominated by Royal College of Physicians – clinical specialist

  • Dr Jesme Fox, nominated by Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)