9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by the NHS Centre for Reviews and Dissemination and Centre for Health Economics, University of York:

  • Norman G, Rice S, O'Connor J et al. (2013) Dimethyl fumarate for treating relapsing‑remitting multiple sclerosis

B The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Biogen Idec

II Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Association of British Neurologists

  • Multiple Sclerosis Society

  • Multiple Sclerosis Trust

  • Primary Care Neurology Society

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association

  • United Kingdom Multiple Sclerosis Specialist Nurse Association

III Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Novartis

  • Teva

C The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on dimethyl fumarate by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Jacqueline Palace, Consultant Neurologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Oxford University, nominated by Biogen Idec – clinical specialist

  • Professor Neil Robertson, Professor of Neurology at Cardiff University and University Health Board, nominated by the Multiple Sclerosis Trust – clinical specialist

  • Catherine John, nominated by the Multiple Sclerosis Trust – patient expert

  • Nick Rijke, Director of Policy and Research, the Multiple Sclerosis Society, nominated by the Multiple Sclerosis Society – patient expert

D Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Biogen Idec

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)