8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ Technology Assessment Group (BMJ–TAG):

  • Edwards SJ, Crawford F, Wakefield V, et al. Edoxaban for the treatment and secondary prevention of deep vein thrombosis and/or pulmonary embolism: A Single Technology Appraisal. BMJ–TAG, April 2015.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope. Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on edoxaban by making a submission to the Committee. Organisations listed in I, II and III have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Company

  • Daiichi Sankyo (edoxaban)

II. Professional/expert and patient/carer groups:

  • AntiCoagulation Europe

  • British Thoracic Society

  • Clinical Leaders of Thrombosis

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Thrombosis UK

  • United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Bayer (rivaroxaban)


  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • LEO Pharma (tinzaparin)

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on edoxaban by providing oral evidence to the Committee.

  • Dr Luke Howard, Consultant Respiratory Physician, nominated by organisation representing Daiichi Sankyo – clinical expert

  • Mrs Diane Eaton, Project Development Manager for AntiCoagulation Europe, nominated by organisation representing AntiCoagulation Europe – patient expert

  • Professor Beverley Hunt, Medical Director for Thrombosis UK, nominated by organisation representing Thrombosis UK – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following company attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Daiichi Sankyo (edoxaban)

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)