7 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group (LRiG):

  • Greenhalgh J, Longworth L, Crossan C, et al., Edoxaban tosylate for preventing stroke and systemic embolism in people with non‑valvular atrial fibrillation: A Single Technology Appraisal, March 2015.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope. Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on edoxaban by making a submission to the Committee. Organisations listed in I, II and III have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Company

  • Daiichi Sankyo UK (edoxaban)

II. Professional/expert and patient/carer groups:

  • AntiCoagulation Europe (ACE)

  • Arrhythmia Alliance

  • Association of British Neurologists

  • Atrial Fibrillation Association

  • British Society for Haematology

  • British Thoracic Society

  • Clinical Leaders of Thrombosis (CLOT)

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Bayer (rivaroxaban)

  • Boehringer Ingelheim (dabigatran etexilate)

  • Bristol–Myers Squibb, Pfizer (apixaban)

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Health Improvement Scotland

  • Liverpool Reviews & Implementation Group, University of Liverpool

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on edoxaban by providing oral evidence to the Committee.

  • Dr Ameet Bakhai, Consultant Cardiologist / Clinical R&D Deputy Director, nominated by organisation representing Daiichi Sankyo UK – clinical expert

  • Miss Nazish Khan, Principal Pharmacist Cardiac Services, nominated by organisation representing United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association – clinical expert

  • Miss Laura Wood, nominated by organisation representing Arrhythmia Alliance – patient expert

  • Miss Vicki Hill, nominated by organisation representing Atrial Fibrillation Association – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following company attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Daiichi Sankyo UK

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)