7 Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

7 Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair)
Consultant Radiologist, Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Iain Squire (Vice‑Chair)
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Dr Graham Ash
Consultant in General Adult Psychiatry, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Jeremy Braybrooke
Consultant Medical Oncologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Gerardine Bryant
GP, Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Professor Aileen Clarke
Professor of Public Health and Health Services Research, University of Warwick

Dr Andrew England
Senior Lecturer, Directorate of Radiography, University of Salford

Dr Ian Lewin
Honorary Consultant Physician and Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Anne McCune
Consultant Hepatologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Professor John McMurray
Professor of Medical Cardiology, University of Glasgow

Dr Alec Miners
Senior lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mohit Misra
GP, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, London

Ms Sarah Parry
Clinical Nurse Specialist – Paediatric Pain Management, Bristol Royal Hospital for Children

Ms Pamela Rees
Lay Member

Ms Ellen Rule
Director of Transformation and Service Redesign, Gloucestershire Clinical Commissioning Group

Mr Stephen Sharp
Senior Statistician, University of Cambridge MRC Epidemiology Unit

Dr Brian Shine
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

Dr Peter Sims
GP, Devon

Mr David Thomson
Lay member

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer, Cardiff University; Consultant in Public Health Medicine, National Public Health Service Wales

Professor Olivia Wu
Professor of Health Technology Assessment, University of Glasgow

Guideline representatives

The following individuals, representing the Guideline Development Group responsible for developing NICE's clinical guideline related to this topic, were invited to attend the first ACD meeting to observe and to contribute as advisers to the Committee.

Dr Jon Packham
Consultant Rheumatologist

Dr Louise Warburton
GP with a Special Interest in Rheumatology

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Caroline Hall and Sophie Laurenson
Technical Leads

Joanna Richardson
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)