7 Appraisal committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

7.1 Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 appraisal committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each appraisal committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each appraisal committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair)
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital Cambridge

Professor Ken Stein (Vice Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Exeter Medical School

Dr Ray Armstrong
Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Lisa Cooper
Echocardiographer, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

Mr Robert Hinchliffe
Clinical Senior Lecturer (Higher Education Funding Council for England; HEFCE) in Vascular Surgery and Honorary Consultant Vascular Surgeon, St George's Vascular Institute

Mrs Anne Joshua
Pharmaceutical Advisor NHS 111/NHS Pathways

Dr Miriam McCarthy
Consultant, Public Health, Public Health Agency, Northern Ireland

Professor Ruairidh Milne
Director of Strategy and Development and Director for Public Health Research at the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre at the University of Southampton

Dr Peter Norrie
Principal Lecturer in Nursing, DeMontfort University

Mr Christopher O'Regan
Head of Health Technology Assessment and Outcomes Research, Merck Sharp & Dohme

Dr Sanjeev Patel
Consultant Physician and Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, St Helier University Hospital

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Danielle Preedy
Lay member

Mr Alun Roebuck
Consultant Nurse in Critical and Acute Care, United Lincolnshire NHS Trust

Mr Cliff Snelling
Lay member

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Mr David Thomson
Lay member

Dr Nicky Welton
Senior Lecturer in Biostatistics/Health Technology Assessment, University of Bristol

Dr Nerys Woolacott
Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York
NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Mary Hughes
Technical Lead

Zoe Charles and Rosie Lovett
Technical Advisers

Jeremy Powell
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)