Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members

Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets twice a month other than in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into two branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members attending meetings of both branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declaration of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor R L Akehurst
Dean, School of Health Related Research, Sheffield University

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Sir Colin Berry
Professor of Morbid Anatomy St Bartholomew's and Royal London School of Medicine

Dr Sheila Bird
MRC Biostatistics Unit, Cambridge

Professor Martin Buxton
Director of Health Economics Research Group
Brunel University

Dr Karl Claxton
Lecturer in Economics
University of York

Professor Sarah Cowley
Professor of Community Practice Development
Kings College, London

Mr Chris Evennett
Chief Executive
Mid-Hampshire Primary Care Group

Professor Terry Feest
Clinical Director and Consultant Nephrologist
Richard Bright Renal Unit and Chairman of the UK Renal Registry

Professor Gary Ford
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age / Consultant Physician
Wolfson Unit of Clinical Pharmacology University of Newcastle

Mrs Sue Gallagher
Chief Executive
Merton, Sutton and Wandsworth Health Authority

Dr Trevor Gibbs
Head, Global Clinical Safety & Pharmacovigilance

Mr John Goulston
Director of Finance
Barts & the London NHS Trust

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine
University of Newcastle

Dr Terry John
General Practitioner
The Firs, London

Dr Diane Ketley
Research into Practice Programme Leader
NHS Modernisation Agency

Dr Mayur Lakhani
General Practitioner, Highgate Surgery, Leicester and Lecturer, University of Leicester

Mr M Mughal
Consultant Surgeon
Chorley and South Ribble NHS Trust

Mr James Partridge
Chief Executive
Changing Faces

Professor Philip Routledge
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology
University of Wales

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice Chairman)
Professor of Public Health
University of Birmingham

Dr Cathryn Thomas
General Practitioner
Senior Lecturer
Department of Primary Care and General Practice
University of Birmingham