Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets twice a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into two branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members attending meetings of both branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches. Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Sunil Angris
General Practitioner, Waterhouses Medical Practice, Staffordshire

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Professor John Brazier
Health Economist, University of Sheffield

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics, Health Economics Research Unit, University of Aberdeen

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, Institute of General Practice & Primary Care, Sheffield

Dr Mark Chakravarty
Head of Government Affairs and NHS Policy, Procter and Gamble Pharmaceuticals (UK) Ltd, Egham, Surrey

Dr Peter I Clark
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Wirral, Merseyside

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, University Department of Medicine & Metabolism, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Ms Sally Gooch
Director of Nursing, Mid-Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust, Chelmsford

Professor Robert Kerwin
Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Psychiatry, London

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Harrogate Health Care NHS Trust

Professor Andrew Stevens (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Mary Watkins
Professor of Nursing, University of Plymouth

Dr Norman Waugh
Department of Public Health, University of Aberdeen

B. NICE Project Team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to a Health Technology Analyst and a Technology Appraisal Project Manager within the Institute.

Dr Alastair Fischer
Technical Lead, NICE project team

Nina Pinwill (up to August 2003) and Dr Sarah Cumbers (from August 2003)
Project Managers, NICE project team