Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A. Appraisal Committee members

NOTE. The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets twice a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into two branches, with the chair and vice-chair between them attending meetings of both branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam
Radiologist, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Ron Akehurst
Dean of School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Dr Sunil Angris
General Practitioner, Waterhouses Medical Practice, Staffordshire

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Stirling Bryan
Professor of Health Economics, Health Economics Facility, Health Services Management Centre, University of Birmingham

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics, Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Professor David Chadwick
Professor of Neurology, Department of Neurological Science, Walton Centre for Neurology & Neurosurgery, Liverpool

Dr Lorna Duggan
Consultant Forensic Psychiatrist in Developmental Disabilities, St Andrew's Hospital, Northampton

Mrs Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Dr Trevor Gibbs
Head, Global Clinical Safety & Pharmacovigilance, GlaxoSmithKline, Greenford

Professor Philip Home (Vice-Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Department of Medicine, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, Molecular & Clinical Pharmacology, University of Sheffield

Dr Mike Laker
Medical Director, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Trust, Royal Victoria Infirmary, Newcastle-Upon-Tyne

Dr George Levvy
Chief Executive, Motor Neurone Disease Association, Northampton

Mr Terence Lewis
Mental Health Consultant, National Institute for Mental Health in England, Solihull, West Midlands

Professor Richard Lilford
Professor of Clinical Epidemiology, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Professor John Lumley
Honorary Consultant, The Ernest Cooke Clinic Microvascular Unit, Great Ormond Street, Bart's and the Royal London NHS Trust, Barbican, London

Dr Simon Mitchell
Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Dr Christa Roberts
UK Manager Vascular Intervention, Guidant Ltd.

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Dr Lindsay Smith
General Practitioner, Westlake Surgery, Somerset

Mr Mike Spencer
General Manager, Clinical Support Services, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Professor Mary Watkins
Professor of Nursing, University of Plymouth

B. NICE Project Team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to one or more Health Technology Analysts and Technology Appraisal Project Managers within the Institute.

Tina Eberstein and Janet Robertson
Technical Leads, NICE project team

Dr Sarah Cumbers and Alana Miller
Project Managers, NICE project team