Has NICE guidance helped your organisation up its game? Enter the 2019 Shared Learning Awards

The 2019 Shared Learning Awards are now open for entries.

The awards recognise organisations who have put NICE guidance or standards into practice to improve services.

Any organisation that can show how NICE guidance or quality standards have been put into practice may enter the Shared Learning Awards, which are now in their 12th year.

An expert judging panel will shortlist 20 entries, and the best three will be invited to NICE Conference in June 2019, where the overall winner will be announced.

The conference will also showcase the shortlisted entries in a designated exhibition space, and NICE will distribute a brochure containing information on all 20 of them.

Entry is free and is done via the NICE website.

2018 winner: ‘staff boost’

The winner of 2018’s award was East Berkshire Clinical Commissioning Group (CCG), for a project which significantly reduced the incidence of urinary tract infections (UTIs) in care home residents.

Among other measures, care homes were encouraged to create seven daily drinks rounds. The CCG worked in partnership with care home staff, residents and the Oxford Patient Safety Collaborative to raise awareness of the importance of hydration and UTI management – click to read more.

Sundus Jawad, prescribing and care homes support pharmacist at 2018’s Shared Learning Awards winner East Berkshire CCG (pictured above, right), said: “Through the Shared Learning Awards, NICE helps spread best practice across health and social care systems and improve patient outcomes on the ground.

“We were delighted to win the 2018 Shared Learning Award and I’d urge you to consider entering – it has given colleagues a real boost to see their hard work recognised in this way.”

Last year’s two runners up involved a new pathway for faecal calprotectin testing for assessing inflammation in the bowel, and a new approach to the management of malnourished care home residents. Read more on these here, or find out more about winners and nominees for previous awards here.

Enter the Shared Learning Awards on the NICE website by 11 January 2019.

Winning last year's award has given colleagues a real boost

Sundus Jawad, East Berkshire CCG