Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month except in December, when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair) Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Dr Jeff Aronson Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Dr Ray Armstrong Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Peter Barry Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr Michael Boscoe Consultant Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Professor John Cairns Professor of Health Economics Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mark Chakravarty External Relations Director, Pharmaceuticals and Personal Health, Oral Care Europe

Professor Fergus Gleeson Consultant Radiologist, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Mrs Eleanor Grey Lay member

Dr Neil Iosson General Practitioner

Dr Rosa Legood Lecturer, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Mr Terence Lewis Lay member

Professor Ruairidh Milne Director of Strategy and Development, and Director for Public Health Research, NIHR Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Dr Rubin Minhas General Practitioner and Clinical Director, BMJ Evidence Centre

Dr Peter Norrie Principal Lecturer in Nursing, DeMontfort University

Professor Stephen Palmer Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Sanjeev Patel Consultant Physician & Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, St Helier University Hospital

Dr John Pounsford Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Casey Quinn Lecturer in Health Economics, Division of Primary Care, University of Nottingham

Dr John Rodriguez Assistant Director of Public Health, NHS Eastern and Coastal Kent

Mr Alun Roebuck Consultant Nurse in Critical and Acute Care, United Lincolnshire NHS Trust

Dr Florian Alexander Ruths Consultant Psychiatrist and Cognitive Therapist, Maudsley Hospital, London

Mr Navin Sewak Primary Care Pharmacist, NHS Hammersmith and Fulham

Mr Roderick Smith Finance Director, West Kent Primary Care Trust

Mr Cliff Snelling Lay member

Professor Ken Stein (Vice Chair) Professor of Public Health, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Dr Colin Watts Consultant Neurosurgeon, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Mr Tom Wilson Director of Contracting and Performance, NHS Tameside and Glossop

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Panagiota Vrouchou and Alfred Sackeyfio Technical Leads

Fiona Rinaldi Technical Adviser

Jeremy Powell Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)