7 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

7 Diagnostics advisory committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics advisory committee

The diagnostics advisory committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. A list of the committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing committee members

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, diagnostics advisory committee

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, diagnostics advisory committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Mr John Bagshaw
In-vitro Diagnostics Consultant

Dr Phil Chambers
Research Fellow, Leeds Institute of Cancer and Pathology, University of Leeds

Dr Sue Crawford
GP Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Erika Denton
Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Dr James Gray
Consultant Microbiologist, Birmingham Children's Hospital

Mr John Hitchman
Lay member

Mr Patrick McGinley
Head of Costing and Service Line Reporting, Maidstone and Tunbridge Wells NHS Trust

Dr Michael Messenger
Deputy Director and Scientific Manager, National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Diagnostic Evidence Co‑operative, Leeds

Mrs Alexandria Moseley
Lay member

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Dr Dermot Neely
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Newcastle upon Tyne NHS Trust

Dr Simon Richards
VP Regulatory Affairs, EME, Alere Inc

Dr Deirdre Ryan
Consultant Cellular Pathologist, Royal London Hospital

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Professor Anthony Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology, St Thomas Hospital

Specialist committee members

Dr Andrew Latchford
Consultant Gastroenterologist, St Mark's Hospital

Miss Demetra Georgiou
Genetic counsellor, St Mark's Hospital

Dr Fiona Lalloo
Consultant in Clinical Genetics and Clinical Director of Manchester Centre for Genomic Medicine, Manchester Centre for Genomic Medicine/St Mary's Hospital

Dr Kevin Monahan
Consultant Gastroenterologist, Family History of Bowel Cancer Clinic West Middlesex University Hospital, Chelsea and Westminster Hospitals NHS Trust, and Honorary Senior Clinical Lecturer, Imperial College London

Professor Mohammed Ilyas
Professor of Pathology (Honorary Consultant) and Head of Division, Queens Medical Centre, University of Nottingham

Dr Pauline Skarrott
Lay specialist committee member

Dr Robert Glynne-Jones
Consultant Clinical Oncologist, Mount Vernon Hospital

Dr Yvonne Wallis
Consultant Clinical Scientist, West Midlands Regional Genetics Laboratory

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a technical analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Brendan Mullaney
Topic Lead (until February 2016)

Thomas Walker
Topic Lead (from March 2016)

Sarah Byron
Technical Adviser (until March 2016)

Rebecca Albrow
Technical Adviser (from April 2016)

Robert Fernley
Project Manager

ISBN: 978-1-4731-2340-3

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)