11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

11 Diagnostics Advisory Committee members and NICE project team

Diagnostics Advisory Committee

The Diagnostics Advisory Committee is an independent committee consisting of 22 standing members and additional specialist members. During this assessment the membership of the Diagnostics Advisory Committee changed because some members reached the end of their terms and others were appointed in their place. A full list of the Committee members who participated in this assessment appears below.

Standing Committee members

Professor Ron Akehurst
Professor in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), University of Sheffield

Dr Trevor Cole
Consultant Clinical and Cancer Geneticist, Birmingham Women's Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Paul Collinson
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, St George's Hospital

Dr Sue Crawford
GP Principal, Chillington Health Centre

Professor Ian A Cree
Senior Clinical Advisor, Warwick Medical School, University Hospitals Coventry and Warwickshire

Professor Erika Denton
National Clinical Director for Diagnostics, NHS England, Honorary Professor of Radiology, University of East Anglia and Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital

Dr Steve Edwards
Head of Health Technology Assessment, BMJ Evidence Centre.

Mr David Evans
Lay representative

Dr Simon Fleming
Consultant in Clinical Biochemistry and Metabolic Medicine, Royal Cornwall Hospital

Professor Lisa Hall
Professor of Analytical Biotechnology, University of Cambridge

Professor Noor Kalsheker
Professor of Clinical Chemistry, University of Nottingham

Dr Mark Kroese
Vice Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee and Consultant in Public Health Medicine, PHG Foundation, Cambridge and UK Genetic Testing Network

Dr Peter Naylor
GP, Chair Wirral Health Commissioning Consortia

Professor Adrian Newland
Chair, Diagnostics Advisory Committee

Dr Richard Nicholas
Consultant Neurologist; Honorary Senior Lecturer, Heatherwood and Wexham Park Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Gail Norbury
Consultant Clinical Scientist, Guy's and St Thomas' NHS Foundation Trust

Ms Margaret Ogden
Lay representative

Dr Diego Ossa
Director of Market Access Europe, Novartis Molecular Diagnostics

Mr Stuart Saw
Head of Financial Strategy London, NHS England

Dr Steve Thomas
Consultant Vascular and Cardiac Radiologist at Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Mr Paul Weinberger
CEO, DiaSolve Ltd, London

Mr Christopher Wiltsher
Lay representative

Specialist Committee members

Dr Fiona Blackhall
Consultant Medical Oncologist and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Christie Hospital NHS Foundation Trust

Mrs Mandi Elliott
Chemotherapy Nurse Specialist, Queen's Centre for Oncology and Haematology

Mr Tom Haswell
Lay Representative

Mr Paul Roberts
Consultant Cytogeneticist and Interim Head of Department, St James's Hospital

Dr Mark Slade
Consultant Respiratory Physician and Clinical Director, Papworth Hospital NHS Foundation

Dr Phillipe Taniere
Consultant Histopathologist, Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham

NICE project team

Each diagnostics assessment is assigned to a team consisting of a Technical Analyst (who acts as the topic lead), a Technical Adviser and a Project Manager.

Frances Nixon and Farouk Saeed
Topic Leads

Pall Jonsson
Technical Adviser

Robert Fernley
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)