Appendix A. Committee members and NICE lead team

Appendix A. Committee members and NICE lead team

A Medical Technologies Advisory Committee members

The Medical Technologies Advisory Committee is a standing advisory committee of NICE. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this guidance appears below.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be evaluated. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that evaluation.

The minutes of each Medical Technologies Advisory Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Bruce Campbell (Chair)
Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Exeter

Dr Peter Groves
Consultant Cardiologist, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust

Dr Allan Swift
Director of Quality and Regulatory Affairs, Gen-Probe Life Sciences

Professor Peter Gaines
Consultant Interventional Radiologist, Sheffield Vascular Institute and Sheffield Hallam University

Professor Karl Claxton
Professor of Economics, University of York

Mr Harry Golby
Head of Commissioning, Acute, Access and Diagnostics, Salford NHS

Professor Tony Freemont
Professor of Osteoarticular Pathology, University of Manchester

Matthew Hill
Lay Member

Susan Bennett
Lay Member

Mrs Gail Coster
Radiography Manager, Strategy, Planning and Governance, Yorkshire NHS Trust

Dr Daniel Clark
Head of Clinical Engineering, Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust

Mrs Jacqui Nettleton
Programme Director, Long Term Conditions, West Sussex PCT

Dr Paul Knox
Reader in Vision Science, University of Liverpool.

Professor Stephen Westaby
Consultant Cardiac Surgeon, John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford

Dr Susanne Ludgate
Clinical Director, Devices Medicines & Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency

Professor Bipin Bhakt
Charterhouse Professor in rehabilitation Medicine and NHS Consultant Physician, University of Leeds

Dr Keith Blanshard
Consultant Radiologist, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Mrs Catherine Leonard
Reimbursement Manager, Medtronic UK

Dr (Robert) Martyn Bracewell
Senior Lecturer in Neurology and Neuroscience, Bangor University

Professor Christopher McCabe
Professor of Health Economics, Institute of Health Sciences, University of Leeds

Dr Alex Faulkner
Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Biomedicine & Society, King's College London

Dr Janelle York
Lecturer & Researcher in Nursing, University of Salford

Professor Sharon Peacock
Professor of Clinical Microbiology, University of Cambridge

Dr Dilly Anumba
Senior Clinical Lecturer/Honorary Consultant Obstretrician and Gynaecologist, University of Sheffield

B NICE lead team

Each medical technology assessment is assigned a lead team of a NICE technical analyst and technical adviser, a clinical expert, a representative of the External Assessment Centre, and a non-expert member of the Medical Technologies Advisory Committee.

Suzi Peden
Technical analyst

Dr Peter Groves
Clinical expert

Professor Chris McCabe
Non-clinical expert

Professor John Hutton
External Assessment Centre representative

Lizzy Latimer
Technical adviser

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)