11 Membership of the Public Health Advisory Committee and the NICE project team

11 Membership of the Public Health Advisory Committee and the NICE project team

Public Health Advisory Committee A

NICE has set up several Public Health Advisory Committees (PHACs). These standing committees consider the evidence and develop public health guidance. Membership is multidisciplinary, comprising academics, public health practitioners, topic experts and members of the public. They may come from the NHS, education, social care, environmental health, local government or the voluntary sector. The following are members of PHAC A:


Susan Jebb
Professor of Diet and Population Health, Department of Primary Care Health Sciences, University of Oxford

Core members

Alison Lloyd
Community Member; Pastoral Manager, Specialist School

Amanda Sowden
Deputy Director, National Institute for Health Research Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York

Chris Packham
Associate Medical Director, Nottinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust

Joyce Rothschild JP
Independent Education Consultant

Lucy Yardley
Professor of Health Psychology, University of Southampton

Mireia Jofre Bonet
Professor of Health Economics, City University London

Toby Prevost
Professor of Medical Statistics, King's College London

Topic members

Andy Pringle
Reader in Physical Activity, Exercise and Health, Research Institute of Sport, Physical Activity and Leisure, Leeds Metropolitan University

Elaine McNish
Director of the British Heart Foundation National Centre for Physical Activity and Health

Malcolm Ward
Principal Health Promotion Specialist, Public Health Wales

Ruth Jepson
Senior Scientific Advisor, Scottish Collaboration for Public Health Research and Policy

Stephen Sutton
Professor of Behavioural Science, University of Cambridge

Jennifer Bostock
Community Member


Stephen Morris
Professor of Health Economics, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health, University College London

NICE project team

Mike Kelly
CPHE Director

Simon Ellis
Associate Director

James Jagroo
Lead Analyst

Ruaraidh Hill

Hugo Crombie

Kim Jeong
Technical Adviser Health Economics

Emily Aidoo
Project Manager (until April 2014)

Emma Doohan
Project Manager (until August 2013 and from July 2014)

Rukshana Begum

Sue Jelley
Senior Editor

Susie Burlace

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)