Appendix A. Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

NOTE The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets twice a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into two branches, with the chair, vice-chair and a number of other members attending meetings of both branches. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Ms Julie Acred
Chief Executive Officer, Derby Hospitals

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care and Honorary Senior Lecturer, Department of Child Health, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Mr Brian Buckley
Vice Chairman, InContact

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, Institute of General Practice & Primary Care, Sheffield

Dr Mark Chakravarty
Head of Government Affairs and NHS Policy, Procter and Gamble Pharmaceuticals (UK) Ltd, Egham, Surrey

Dr Peter I Clark
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Wirral, Merseyside

Ms Donna Covey
Chief Executive, Asthma UK

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, University Department of Medicine & Metabolism, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Mr Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs Manager, Medtronic Ltd

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene

Professor Gary A Ford (Vice Chair)
Professor of Pharmacology of Old Age/Consultant Physician, Newcastle upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, The Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Ms Sally Gooch
FormerDirector of Nursing, Mid-Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust, Chelmsford

Professor Trisha Greenhalgh
Professor of Primary Health Care, University College London

Miss Linda Hands
Clinical Reader in Surgery, University of Oxford

Professor Peter Jones
Professor of Statistics & Dean Faculty of Natural Sciences, Keele University

Professor Robert Kerwin
Professor of Psychiatry and Clinical Pharmacology, Institute of Psychiatry, London

Ms Rachel Lewis
Nurse Advisor to the Department of Health

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Ruairidh Milne
Senior Lecturer in Public Health, National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment, University of Southampton

Dr Neil Milner
General Medical Practitioner, Sheffield

Dr Rubin Minhas
General Practitioner with a Special Interest in Coronary Heart Disease, Primary Care CHD Lead, Medway PCT & Swale PCT

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Harrogate Health Care NHS Trust

Professor Mark Sculpher
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Dr Ken Stein
Senior Lecturer, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Ms Jayne Wilson
Systematic Reviewer, WMHTAC, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology

B NICE Project Team

Each appraisal of a technology is assigned to a Health Technology Analyst and a Technology Appraisal Project Manager within the Institute.

Sarah Garner
Technical Lead, NICE project team

Francis Ruiz
Technical Lead, NICE project team

Emily Marschke
Project Manager, NICE project team