Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Keith Abrams
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Leicester

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, Radcliffe Infirmary

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Professor Stirling Bryan
Director of the Health Economics Facility, University of Birmingham

Professor John Cairns
Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mark Charkravarty
Head of Government Affairs and NHS Policy, Procter and Gamble Pharmaceuticals (UK)

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Ms Lynn Field
Nurse Director, Pan Birmingham Cancer Network

Professor Christopher Fowler
Professor of Surgical Education, University of London

Dr Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Ms Sally Gooch
Former Director of Nursing and Workforce Development, Mid Essex Hospital Services NHS Trust

Mrs Barbara Greggains
Lay Member

Mr Sanjay Gupta
Former Service Manager in Stroke, Gastroenterology, Diabetes and Endocrinology, Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals Foundation NHS Trust

Dr Mike Laker
Medical Director, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Terence Lewis
Mental Health Consultant, National Institute for Mental Health in England

Professor Gary McVeigh
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queens University, Belfast

Dr Ruairidh Milne
Senior Lecturer in Health Technology Assessment, National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology

Dr Neil Milner
General Medical Practitioner, Tramways Medical Centre, Sheffield

Dr Rubin Minhas
General Practitioner, CHD Clinical Lead, Medway PCT

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, North Bristol NHS Trust

Dr Rosalind Ramsay
Consultant Psychiatrist, Adult Mental Health Services, Maudsley Hospital

Dr Christa Roberts
UK Country Manager, Abbott Vascular

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Dr Lindsay Smith
General Practitioner, East Somerset Research Consortium

Mr Roderick Smith
Director of Finance, West Kent Primary Care Trust

Mr Cliff Snelling
Lay Member

Professor Ken Stein
Professor of Public Health, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Dr Rod Taylor
Associate Professor in Health Services Research, Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter and Plymouth.

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Prashanth Kandaswamy and Nicola Hay
Technical Leads

Helen Chung
Technical Adviser

Natalie Bemrose
Project Manager