Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by the Aberdeen Health Technology Assessment Group.

  • Cummins E, Royle P, Snaith A et al. Clinical and cost-effectiveness of continuous subcutaneous infusion for diabetes: updating review, August 2007

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to make submissions and comment on the draft scope, assessment report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Consultee organisations are provided with the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I) Manufacturers/sponsors:

  • Animas Corporation/Johnson & Johnson Medical Ltd (Animas 2020)

  • Medtronic Ltd (Paradigm)

  • Roche Diagnostics Ltd (Accu-Chek Spirit)

  • Smiths Medical International (Deltec Cozmo)

  • Starbridge Systems Ltd (Starlet)

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Association of British Clinical Diabetologists

  • British Dietetic Association

  • Diabetes UK


  • Insulin Dependent Diabetes Trust

  • Insulin Pumpers UK

  • Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Paediatrics and Child Health

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Welsh Assembly Government

III) Commentator organisations (without the right of appeal):

  • Association of British Health-Care Industries (ABHI)

  • British National Formulary

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Eli Lilly & Co Ltd

  • National Collaborating Centre for Chronic Conditions

  • National Collaborating Centre for Women's and Children's Health

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

  • Novo Nordisk Ltd

  • Pfizer Ltd

  • The Dose Adjustment for Normal Eating (DAFNE) Steering Group

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient advocate nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They participated in the Appraisal Committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the Appraisal Committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on continuous subcutaneous insulin infusion for the treatment of diabetes mellitus by attending the initial Committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Mr John Davis, National Coordinator (INPUT), nominated by INPUT – patient expert

  • Mrs Lesley Jordan, nominated by Insulin Pumpers UK – patient expert

  • Mrs Alexandria Moseley, nominated by Juvenile Diabetes Research Foundation – patient expert

  • Professor John Pickup, Professor of Diabetes & Metabolism, nominated by INPUT – clinical specialist

  • Dr Peter Hammond, Consultant Physician/Endocrinologist, nominated by Association of British Clinical Diabetologists – clinical specialist

  • Dr Fiona Campbell, Consultant Paediatrician, nominated by Diabetes UK – clinical specialist

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)