Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice-chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Keith Abrams
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Leicester

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Dr Jeffrey Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Clinical Pharmacology, Radcliffe Infirmary

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Mr Brian Buckley
Lay Member

Professor Stirling Bryan
Director, Health Economics Facility, University of Birmingham

Professor John Cairns
Public Health and Policy,London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, University of Sheffield

Professor David Chadwick
Professor of Neurology, Walton Centre for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Dr Mark Chakravarty
Industry Member

Dr Peter I Clark
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Merseyside

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, University Department of Medicine and Metabolism, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene

Ms Lynn Field
Nurse Director, Pan Birmingham Cancer Network

Professor Christopher Fowler
Professor of Surgical Education and Honorary Consultant Urologist

Mrs Barbara Gerggains
Lay Member

Dr Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, The Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Ms Sally Gooch
Independent Healthcare Consultant

Mr Sanjay Gupta
Stroke Services Manager, Basildon and Thurrock University Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Philip Home
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, University of Newcastle upon Tyne

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Professor Peter Jones
Professor of Statistics and Dean, Faculty of Natural Sciences, Keele University

Dr Mike Laker
Medical Director, Newcastle Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr George Levvy
Chief Executive, Motor Neurone Disease Association, Northampton

Ms Rachel Lewis
Nurse Advisor to the Department of Health

Mr Terence Lewis
Lay Member

Professor Gary McVeigh
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queen's University Belfast

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Neil Milner
General Practitioner, Sheffield

Dr Ruairidh Milne
Senior Lecturer in Health Technology Assessment, National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Rosalind Ramsay
Consultant Psychiatrist, Adult Mental Health Services, Maudsley Hospital

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Physician, The Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Lindsay Smith
General Practitioner, East Somerset Research Consortium

Mr Roderick Smith
Director of Finance, Adur, Arun and Worthing PCT

Mr Cliff Snelling
Lay Member

Dr Ken Stein
Senior Lecturer, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens (Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Joanna Richardson
Technical Lead

Dr Elisabeth George
Technical Adviser

Reetan Patel
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)