Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Southampton Health Technology Assessments Centre:

  • Shepherd J et al. Entecavir for the treatment for chronic hepatitis B, February 2008.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also had the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I) Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb (entecavir)

II) Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Association of Clinical Microbiologists

  • Association of Medical Microbiologists

  • British Association for the Study of the Liver

  • British Infection Society

  • British Society of Gastroenterology

  • Hepatitis B Foundation UK

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • South Asian Health Foundation

III) Other consultees

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Assembly Government

IV) Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal)

  • Novartis (telbivudine)

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Health Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Gilead Sciences (adefovir dipivoxil)

  • GlaxoSmithKline

  • National Collaborating Centre for Women and Children's Health

  • National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment

  • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

  • Roche Products Limited (interferon alfa-2a, peginterferon alfa-2a)

  • Schering-Plough Ltd (interferon alfa-2a, interferon alfa-2b)

  • Southampton Health Technology Assessments Centre (SHTAC)

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient advocate nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on entecavir by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Howard Thomas, nominated by the British Society of Gastroenterologists – clinical specialist

  • Dr Elizabeth Boxall, nominated by the Association of Clinical Microbiologists – clinical specialist

  • Professor Geoffrey Dusheiko, nominated by the Royal College of Physicians – clinical specialist

  • Penny Wilson Webb, nominated by Hepatitis B Foundation UK – patient expert

  • Robert Windsor, nominated by Hepatitis B Foundation UK – patient expert

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)