Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice-chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Brian Buckley
Chairman, Incontact

Dr Carol Campbell
Senior Lecturer, University of Teesside

Professor Mike Campbell
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Professor David Chadwick
Professor of Neurology, University of Liverpool

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance Research and Development Unit

Dr Mike Davies
Consultant Physician, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Mr Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs Manager, Medtronic

Professor Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Dr Dyfrig Hughes
Senior Research Fellow in Pharmacoeconomics, Centre for the Economics of Health and Policy in Health, University of Wales

Dr Catherine Jackson
Clinical Lecturer in Primary Care Medicine, Alyth Health Centre

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Peter Jones
Professor of Statistics and Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, Keele University

Ms Rachel Lewis
Practice Development Facilitator, Manchester Primary Care Trust

Damien Longson
Consultant in Liaison Psychiatry, North Manchester General Hospital

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Medical Director, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Simon Mitchell
Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Dr Richard Alexander Nakielny
Consultant Radiologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

Dr Martin J Price
Head of Outcomes Research, Janssen-Cilag

Dr Philip Rutledge
GP and Consultant in Medicines Management, NHS Lothian

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C

Dr Cathryn Thomas
GP and Associate Professor, University of Birmingham

Mr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

B Guideline representatives

The following individual, representing the Guideline Development Group responsible for developing the Institute's clinical guideline related to this topic, was invited to attend the ACD meeting to observe and to contribute as an adviser to the Committee.

  • Sue Latchem, Guidelines Commissioning Manager, NICE

C NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Elangovan Gajraj
Technical Lead

Joanna Richardson
Technical Adviser

Chris Feinmann
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)