Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the committee

The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by Peninsula Technology Assessment Group, University of Exeter.

  • Bond M et al. (2008) The effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of methods of storing donated kidneys from deceased donors.

The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, assessment report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). The manufacturer/sponsor, professional/specialist and patient/carer groups, and other consultees listed were also invited to make written submissions and have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

  • Manufacturer/sponsor:

    • Bristol-Myers Squibb (viaspan, kidney perfusion solution)

    • Organ Recovery Systems (LifePort Kidney Transporter)

  • Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

    • BODY – British Organ Donor Society

    • British Renal Society

    • British Transplantation Society

    • Renal Association

    • Royal College of Nursing

    • Transplants in Mind

  • Other consultees

    • Department of Health

    • Shropshire County PCT

    • Welsh Assembly Government

  • Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal)

    • AQIX Limited

    • Kidney Research UK

    • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

    • National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment

    • NHS Quality Improvement Scotland

    • Peninsula Technology Assessment Group, University of Exeter

    • UK Transplant.

The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient advocate nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They participated in the appraisal committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the appraisal committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on machine perfusion and cold storage of kidneys by attending the initial committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Miss Laura J Buist, Director of Renal Transplantation nominated by National Health Service Quality Improvement Scotland – clinical specialist

  • Mr Neville Jamieson, Consultant Surgeon and Associate Lecturer nominated by British Transplantation Society – clinical specialist

  • Mr Tom Fearon, Chairman of and nominated by the British Organ Donor Society – patient expert

  • Mr Ken Tupling, nominated by British Organ Donor Society – patient expert.