Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is a standing advisory committee of the Institute. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Philip Home (Vice Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Amanda Adler
Consultant Physician, Cambridge University Hospitals Trust

Professor A E Ades
MRC Senior Scientist, MRC Health Services Research Collaboration, Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Mrs Elizabeth Brain
Lay Member

Dr Robin Carlisle
Deputy Director of Public Health, Rotherham PCT

Mrs Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Professor John Geddes
Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, University of Oxford

Mr John Goulston
Chief Executive, Barking, Havering and Redbridge Hospitals NHS Trust

Mr Adrian Griffin
VP Strategic Affairs, LifeScan, Johnson & Johnson

Dr Richard Harling
Director of Health Policy, Worcestershire PCT and Worcestershire County Council

Dr Vincent Kirkbride
Consultant Neonatologist, Regional Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Sheffield

Dr Alec Miners
Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay Member

Mrs Angela Schofield
Chairman, Bournemouth and Poole Teaching PCT

Mr David Thomson
Lay Member

Mr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Dr Luke Twelves
General Practitioner, Ramsey Health Centre, Cambridgeshire

Dr Paul Watson
Director of Commissioning, East of England Strategic Health Authority

B Guideline representatives

The following individual, representing the Guideline Development Group responsible for developing the Institute's clinical guideline related to this topic, was invited to attend the meeting to observe and to contribute as an adviser to the Committee:

  • Ms Karen Head, Project Manager, National Collaborating Centre for Acute Care

C NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

David Chandiwana
Technical Lead

Janet Robertson
Technical Adviser

Bijal Chandarana
Project Manager