Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is one of NICE's standing advisory committees. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr David W Black
Director of Public Health, Derbyshire County Primary Care Trust

Mr Mark Campbell
Director of Standards, Bury Primary Care Trust

Professor Mike Campbell
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Mr David Chandler
Lay member

Mr Peter Clarke
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology, Merseyside

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance R & D Unit

Dr Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Dyfrig Hughes
Reader in Pharmacoeconomics, Centre for Economics and Policy in Health, Bangor University

Dr Catherine Jackson
Professor of Primary Care Medicine, University of St Andrews

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Professor Peter Jones
Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, Keele University

Mr Henry Marsh
Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Jonathan Michaels
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Medical Director, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Simon Mitchell
Consultant Neonatal Paediatrician, St Mary's Hospital, Manchester

Dr Richard Alexander Nakielny
Consultant Radiologist, Royal Hallamshire Hospital, Sheffield

Mrs Ruth Oliver-Williams
Head of Nursing/Quality Improvement Lead Surgical Services, Royal Derby Hospital, Derby

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economics Research Fellow, University of Manchester

Dr Danielle Preedy
Lay member

Dr Philip Rutledge
Consultant in Medicines Management, NHS Lothian

Mr Miles Scott
Chief Executive, Bradford Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Surinder Sethi
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, North West Specialised Services Commissioning Team

Professor Andrew Stevens (Chair)
Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Dr Matt Stevenson
Technical Director, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Helen Tucker
Technical Lead

Janet Robertson
Technical Adviser

Laura Malone
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)