Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committee is one of NICE's standing advisory committees. Its members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. The Appraisal Committee meets three times a month except in December, when there are no meetings. The Committee membership is split into three branches, each with a chair and vice chair. Each branch considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between the branches.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor David Barnett (Chair)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Professor Philip Home (Vice Chair)
Professor of Diabetes Medicine, Newcastle University

Dr Amanda Adler
Consultant Physician, Cambridge University Hospitals Trust

Professor A E Ades
MRC Senior Scientist, MRC Health Services Research Collaboration, Department of Social Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Tom Aslan
General Practitioner, Stockwell, London

Dr Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Dr Paul Ewings
Statistician, Taunton & Somerset NHS Trust, Taunton

Mr Adrian Griffin
VP Strategic Affairs, LifeScan, Johnson & Johnson

Dr Alec Miners
Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay Member

Mrs Angela Schofield
Chairman, Bournemouth and Poole Teaching PCT

Mr David Thomson
Lay Member

Mr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Mr Mike Spencer
General Manager, Cardiff and Vale NHS Trust – Facilities and Clinical Support Services

Dr Jane Adam
Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital

Professor Karl Claxton
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Dr David Newsham
Lecturer (Orthoptics), University of Liverpool

Professor Iain Squire
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Dr James Moon
Consultant Cardiologist and Senior Lecturer, University College London Hospital (UCLH) and UCL

Dr Ian Lewin
Consultant Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Mr Christopher Earl
Surgical Care Practitioner, Renal Transplant Unit, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Dr Simon Dixon
Reader in Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay Member

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital

Mrs Elizabeth Brain
Lay Member

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Dr Andres Roman
Technical Lead

Zoe Garrett
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)