Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Dr Brian Buckley
Lay member

Mark Campbell
Director of Standards, Bury Primary Care Trust

Professor Usha Chakravarthy
Professor of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences, The Queen's University of Belfast

Professor Peter Clark (Chair)
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

Dr Ian Davidson
Lecturer in Rehabilitation, University of Manchester

Professor Simon Dixon
Professor in Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Dr Martin Duerden
Medical Director, Conwy Local Health Board

Dr Alexander Dyker
Consultant Physician, Wolfson Unit of Clinical Pharmacology

Dr Jon Fear
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Head of Healthcare Effectiveness NHS Leeds

Paula Ghaneh
Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant, University of Liverpool

Susan Griffin
Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Professor Carole Haigh
Professor in Nursing, Manchester Metropolitan University

Dr Kevin Hardy
Consultant Physician, St Helens and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Alison Hawdale
Lay member

Professor John Hutton
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Professor Peter Jones
Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, Keele University
Professor of Statistics, Keele University

Dr Vincent Kirkbride
Consultant Neonatologist, Regional Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Sheffield

Rachel Lewis
Practice Development Manager, Manchester Primary Care Trust

Professor Jonathan Michaels (Vice Chair)
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Neil Milner
GP, Tramways Medical Centre

Professor Oluwafemi Oyebode
Professor of Psychiatry and Consultant Psychiatrist, The National Centre for Mental Health

Mike Pinkerton
Chief of Business Development – The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dr John Radford
Director of Public Health, Rotherham Primary Care Trust

Dr Philip Rutledge
Consultant Public Health and Health Policy, NHS Lothian

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Dr Brian Shine
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, John Radcliffe Hospital

Mr Paddy Storrie
Lay member

Dr Cathryn Patricia Thomas
GP and Associate Professor, The University of Birmingham

Mr Mike Wallace
Health Economics and Reimbursement Director, Johnson & Johnson Medical

Dr Lok Yap
Consultant in Acute Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology, Whittington Hospitals NHS Trust

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Sally Gallaugher
Technical Lead

Bhash Naidoo
Technical Adviser

Kate Moore
Project Manager