Appendix A: Appraisal committee members and NICE project team

Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. There are four appraisal committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each appraisal committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each appraisal committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

The following is a list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair)
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Professor Keith Abrams
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Leicester

Dr Ray Armstrong
Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Dr Michael Boscoe
Consultant Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics, Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mark Chakravarty
External Relations Director, Pharmaceuticals and Personal Health, Oral Care Europe

Professor Jack Dowie
Health Economist, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Ms Sally Gooch
Independent Nursing and Healthcare Consultant

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Dr Neil Iosson
General Practitioner

Dr Rosa Legood
Lecturer, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Mr Terence Lewis
Lay member

Dr Ruairidh Milne
Director of Strategy and Development and Director for Public Health Research, NIHR Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre, University of Southampton

Dr Rubin Minhas
General Practitioner and Clinical Director, BMJ Evidence Centre

Mr Stephen Palmer
Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Mr Philip Pugh
Strategic Development Lead for Healthcare Associated Infection and Antimicrobial Resistance, Health Protection Agenc

Dr John Rodriguez
Assistant Director of Public Health, NHS Eastern and Coastal Kent

Dr Florian Alexander Ruths
Consultant Psychiatrist and Cognitive Therapist, Maudsley Hospital, London

Mr Navin Sewak
Primary Care Pharmacist, NHS Hammersmith and Fulham

Dr Lindsay Smith
General Practitioner, East Somerset Research Consortium

Mr Roderick Smith
Finance Director, West Kent Primary Care Trust

Mr Cliff Snelling
Lay member

Professor Ken Stein (Vice Chair)
Professor of Public Health, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Ms Nathalie Verin
Health Economics Manager, Boston Scientific UK and Ireland

Dr Colin Watts
Consultant Neurosurgeon, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Scott Goulden
Technical Lead

Fiona Rinaldi
Technical Adviser

Jeremy Powell
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)