Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Kathryn Abel
Reader and Consultant Psychiatrist, Director of the Centre for Women's Mental Health, University of Manchester

Dr David Black
Director of Public Health, Derbyshire County Primary Care Trust

Dr Daniele Bryden
Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine/Anaesthesia, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Mike Campbell
Statistician, Institute of Primary Care and General Practice, University of Sheffield

David Chandler
Lay Member

Dr Mary Cooke
Lecturer School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Manchester

Dr Chris Cooper
General Practitioner, St John's Way Medical Centre, London

Professor Peter Crome
Consultant Physician,Bucknall Hospital

Dr Christine Davey
Senior Researcher, North Yorkshire Alliance R and D Unit

Richard Devereaux-Phillips
Public Affairs and Reimbursement Manager UK and Ireland, Medtronic

Dr Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Wasim Hanif MD FRCP
Consultant Physician and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University Hospital Birmingham

Dr Alan Haycox
Reader in Health Economics, University of Liverpool Management School

Professor Catherine Jackson
Professor of Primary Care Medicine, University of St Andrews

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Henry Marsh
Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital

Professor Gary McVeigh
Cardiovascular Medicine, Queens University Belfast and Consultant Physician, Belfast City Hospital

Dr Eugene Milne
Deputy Medical Director, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Neil Myers
General Practitioner

Dr Richard Nakielny
Consultant Radiologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals Foundation Trust

Dr Katherine Payne
Health Economics Research Fellow, University of Manchester

Dr Danielle Preedy
Lay Member

Dr Martin J Price
Head of Outcomes Research, Janssen-Cilag

Dr Peter Selby
Consultant Physician, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Surinder Sethi
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, North West Specialised Services Commissioning Team

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

John Stevens
Director, Centre for Bayesian Statistics in Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Dr Matt Stevenson
Technical Director, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Professor Paul Trueman
Health Economics Research Group, Brunel University

Dr Judith Wardle
Lay Member

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Joanne Holden
Technical Lead

Zoe Garrett
Technical Adviser

Lori Farrar
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)