Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair from 2010)
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Professor Keith Abrams
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Leicester

Dr Ray Armstrong
Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Dr Darren Ashcroft
Reader in Medicines Usage and Safety, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Professor David Barnett (Chair, 2009)
Professor of Clinical Pharmacology, University of Leicester

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Professor John Cairns
Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mark Chakravarty
External Relations Director Pharmaceuticals & Personal Health, Oral Care Europe

Dr Martin Duerden
Medical Director, Conwy Local Health Board

Professor Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Dr Neil Losson
General Practitioner

Dr Rosa Legood
Lecturer, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Terence Lewis
Lay member

Professor Gary McVeigh
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queen's University, Belfast

Professor Ruairidh Milne
Senior Lecturer in Public Health, National Coordinating Centre for Health Technology Assessment

Dr Neil Milner
General Practitioner, Tramways Medical Centre, Sheffield

Dr Rubin Minhas
General Practitioner and Clinical Director, BMJ Evidence Centre

Dr Peter Norrie
Principal Lecturer in Nursing, DeMontfort University

Professor Stephen Palmer
Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Sanjeev Patel
Consultant Physician & Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, St Helier University Hospital

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Stephen Saltissi
Consultant Cardiologist, Royal Liverpool University Hospital

Dr Casey Quinn
Lecturer in Health Economics, Division of Primary Care, University of Nottingham

Dr John Rodriguez
Assistant Director of Public Health, NHS Eastern and Coastal Kent

Alun Roebuck
Consultant Nurse in Critical and Acute Care, United Lincolnshire NHS Trust

Dr Florian Alexander Ruths
Consultant Psychiatrist & Cognitive Therapist, Maudsley Hospital, London

Navin Sewak
Primary Care Pharmacist, NHS Hammersmith and Fulham

Dr Lindsay Smith
General Practitioner, East Somerset Research Consortium

Roderick Smith
Finance Director, West Kent Primary Care Trust

Cliff Snelling
Lay member

Professor Ken Stein (Vice Chair)
Professor of Public Health, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Dr Rod Taylor
Associate Professor in Health Services Research, Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter and Plymouth

Nathalie Verin
Health Economics Manager, Boston Scientific UK and Ireland

Mr Colin Watts
Consultant Neurosurgeon, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Tom Wilson
Director of Contracts and Information Management and Technology, Milton Keynes Primary Care Trust

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

João Vieira, Dr Ruaraidh Hill and Panagiota Vrouchou
Technical Leads

Joanna Richardson and Helen Chung
Technical Advisers

Jeremy Powell
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)