Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Darren Ashcroft
Professor of Pharmacoepidemiology, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Dr Matthew Bradley
Value Demonstration Director, AstraZeneca

Dr Brian Buckley
Lay Member

Professor Usha Chakravarthy
Professor of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences, The Queen's University of Belfast

Professor Peter Clark (Chair)
Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

Dr Ian Davidson
Lecturer in Rehabilitation, The University of Manchester

Professor Simon Dixon
Senior Lecturer in Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Dr Martin Duerden
Medical Director, Conwy Local Health Board

Dr Alexander Dyker
Consultant Physician, Wolfson Unit of Clinical Pharmacology

Dr Jon Fear
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Head of Healthcare Effectiveness NHS Leeds

Paula Ghaneh
Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant, University of Liverpool

Niru Goenka
Consultant Physician, Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust

Susan Griffin
Research Fellow, University of York

Professor Carol Haigh
Professor in Nursing, Manchester Metropolitan University

Alison Hawdale
Lay Member

Professor John Hutton
Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Professor Peter Jones
Emeritus Professor of Statistics, Keele University

Dr Steven Julious
Senior Lecturer in Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Dr Vincent Kirkbride
Consultant Neonatologist, Regional Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Sheffield

Dr Rachel Lewis
Doctoral Researcher

Dr Anne McCune
Consultant Hepatologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Jonathan Michaels (Vice Chair)
Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Professor Femi Oyebode
Professor of Psychiatry & Consultant Psychiatrist, The National Centre for Mental Health

Dr John Radford
Director of Public Health, Rotherham Primary Care Trust

Dr Phillip Rutledge
GP and Consultant in Medicines Management, NHS Lothian

Dr Brian Shine
Consultant Chemical Pathologist, John Radcliffe Hospital

Dr Murray D Smith
Associate Professor in Social Research in Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Paddy Storrie
Lay Member

Dr Cathryn Thomas
GP and Associate Professor, The University of Birmingham

Dr Lok Yap
Consultant in Acute Medicine & Clinical Pharmacology, Whittington Hospitals NHS Trust

B Guideline representatives

The following individual, representing the Guideline Development Group responsible for developing NICE's clinical guideline related to this topic, was invited to attend the meeting to observe and to contribute as an adviser to the Committee.

  • Dr Chris Deighton, Rheumatoid Arthritis Management Guideline Development Group

C NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Sally Doss
Technical Lead

Zoe Garrett
Technical Adviser

Kate Moore
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)