Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Darren Ashcroft Senior Clinical Lecturer, School of Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, University of Manchester

Dr Matthew Bradley Value Demonstration Director, AstraZeneca

Dr Brian Buckley Lay Member

Professor Usha Chakravarthy Professor of Ophthalmology and Vision Sciences, Queen's University of Belfast

Professor Peter Clark (Chair) Consultant Medical Oncologist, Clatterbridge Centre for Oncology

Dr Ian Davidson Lecturer in Rehabilitation, University of Manchester

Professor Simon Dixon Professor of Health Economics, University of Sheffield

Dr Martin Duerden Medical Director, Conwy Local Health Board

Dr Alexander Dyker Consultant Physician, Wolfson Unit of Clinical Pharmacology

Gillian Ells Prescribing Advisor, NHS Sussex Downs and Weald

Dr Jon Fear Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Head of Healthcare Effectiveness NHS Leeds

Paula Ghaneh Senior Lecturer and Honorary Consultant, University of Liverpool

Niru Goenka Consultant Physician, Countess of Chester NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Carol Haigh Professor in Nursing, Manchester Metropolitan University

Alison Hawdale Lay Member

Professor John Hutton Professor of Health Economics, University of York

Professor Peter Jones Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, Keele University

Professor Peter Jones Pro Vice Chancellor for Research and Enterprise, Keele University; Professor of Statistics, Keele University

Dr Steven Julious Senior Lecturer in Medical Statistics, University of Sheffield

Dr Vincent Kirkbride Consultant Neonatologist, Regional Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Sheffield

Dr Rachel Lewis Doctoral Researcher, Manchester Business School

Dr Anne McCune Consultant Hepatologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Jonathan Michaels (Vice Chair) Professor of Vascular Surgery, University of Sheffield

Dr Neil Milner General Medical Practitioner, Tramways Medical Centre

Professor Oluwafemi Oyebode Professor of Psychiatry and Consultant Psychiatrist, The National Centre for Mental Health

Mr Mike Pinkerton Chief of Business Development, The Rotherham NHS Foundation Trust

Dr John Radford Director of Public Health, Rotherham Primary Care Trust

Dr Phillip Rutledge GP and Consultant in Medicines Management, NHS Lothian

Dr Brian Shine Consultant Chemical Pathologist, John Radcliffe Hospital

Dr Murray D Smith Associate Professor in Social Research in Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Mr Paddy Storrie Lay Member

Dr Cathryn Patricia Thomas GP and Associate Professor, University of Birmingham

Charles Waddicor Chief Executive, NHS Berkshire

Mr Mike Wallace Health Economics and Reimbursement Director, Johnson and Johnson Medical Ltd

Dr Lok Yap Consultant in Acute Medicine and Clinical Pharmacology, Whittington Hospitals NHS Trust

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Helen Tucker and Sally Gallaugher Technical Leads

Fiona Rinaldi Technical Adviser

Kate Moore Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)