Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair)
Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital

Professor Iain Squire (Vice-Chair)
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Professor A E Ades
Professor of Public Health Science, Department of Community Based Medicine, University of Bristol

Dr Jeremy Braybrooke
Consultant Medical Oncologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Fiona Duncan
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Anaesthetic Department, Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Blackpool

Mr Christopher Earl
Surgical Care Practitioner, Renal Transplant Unit, Manchester Royal Infirmary

Mrs Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Professor Jonathan Grigg
Professor of Paediatric Respiratory and Environmental Medicine, Barts and the London School of Medicine and Dentistry, Queen Mary University London

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital

Dr Sharon Saint Lamont
Head of Quality and Innovation, North East Strategic Health Authority

Dr Ian Lewin
Consultant Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Anne McCune
Consultant Hepatologist, University Hospitals Bristol NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Alec Miners
Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr David Newsham
Lecturer (Orthoptics), University of Liverpool

Ms Pamela Rees
Lay member

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay member

Dr Paul Robinson
Medical Director, Merck Sharp & Dohme

Mr Stephen Sharp
Senior Statistician, MRC Epidemiology Unit

Mr Mike Spencer
Assistant Director Patient Experience, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board

Mr David Thomson
Lay member

Mr William Turner
Consultant Urologist, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer/Consultant in Public Health Medicine, Cardiff University and National Public Health Service Wales

Dr Anthony S Wierzbicki
Consultant in Metabolic Medicine/Chemical Pathology, Guy's and St Thomas' Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Olivia Wu
Reader in Health Economics, University of Glasgow

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of one or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Christian Griffiths
Technical Lead

Zoe Charles
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)