Appendix A: Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

A Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3-year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are four Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month except in December, when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair)
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Professor Ken Stein (Vice Chair)
Professor of Public Health, Peninsula Technology Assessment Group (PenTAG), University of Exeter

Professor Keith Abrams
Professor of Medical Statistics, University of Leicester

Dr Ray Armstrong
Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Dr Peter Barry
Consultant in Paediatric Intensive Care, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr Michael Boscoe
Consultant Cardiothoracic Anaesthetist, Royal Brompton and Harefield NHS Foundation Trust

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Dr Mark Chakravarty
External Relations Director – Pharmaceuticals & Personal Health, Oral Care Europe

Mark Chapman
Health Economics and Market Access Manager, Medtronic UK

Professor Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Eleanor Grey
Lay member

Sanjay Gupta
Young physically disabled (YPD) Service Case Manager, Southwark Health and Social Care, Southwark Primary Care Trust

Dr Neil Iosson
General Practitioner

Terence Lewis
Lay member

Professor Ruairidh Milne
Director of Strategy and Development and Director for Public Health Research at the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre at the University of Southampton

Dr Peter Norrie
Principal Lecturer in Nursing, DeMontfort University, Leicester

Dr Sanjeev Patel
Consultant Physician and Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, St Helier University Hospital, Carshalton

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Casey Quinn
Lecturer in Health Economics, Division of Primary Care, University of Nottingham

Alun Roebuck
Consultant Nurse in Critical and Acute Care, United Lincolnshire NHS Trust

Dr Florian Alexander Ruths
Consultant Psychiatrist and Cognitive Therapist at the Maudsley Hospital, London

Navin Sewak
Primary Care Pharmacist, NHS Hammersmith and Fulham

Roderick Smith
Finance Director, West Kent Primary Care Trust

Cliff Snelling
Lay member

Professor Andrew Stevens
Professor of Public Health, Department of Public Health and Epidemiology, University of Birmingham

Professor Rod Taylor

Professor in Health Services Research, Peninsula Medical School, Universities of Exeter and Plymouth

Dr Colin Watts
Consultant Neurosurgeon, Addenbrooke's Hospital, Cambridge

Tom Wilson
Director of Contracting & Performance, NHS Tameside & Glossop

B NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team which may consist of one or more health technology analysts, a technical adviser and a project manager. The technical analyst or technical adviser may act as the technical lead for the appraisal.

Fiona Rinaldi
Technical Lead

Jeremy Powell
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)