Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group (LRiG):

  • Bagust A, Beale S, Blundell M, et al. Erlotinib for the first-line treatment of EGFR-TK mutation positive non-small cell lung cancer, December 2011

B The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Roche

II Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Roy Castle Lung Cancer Foundation

  • British Thoracic Society

  • Cancer Research UK

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

III Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • British National Formulary

  • Commissioning Support Appraisal Services

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety – Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • AstraZeneca UK

  • Lilly UK

  • Pfizer

  • Liverpool Reviews and Implementation Group

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • British Thoracic Oncology Group

  • National Collaborating Centre for Cancer

C The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on erlotinib by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor Michael Lind, Foundation Professor of Oncology, nominated by Lilly – clinical specialist

  • Dr Sanjay Popat, Consultant Medical Oncologist, nominated by Royal College of Physicians – clinical specialist

D Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Roche Products Ltd

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)