Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), The University of Sheffield:

  • Harnan S, Rafia R, Poku E et al. Rivaroxaban for the treatment of deep vein thrombosis and secondary prevention of venous thromboembolism: A Single Technology Appraisal. ScHARR, The University of Sheffield, 2012.

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Bayer

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Anti Coagulation Europe (ACE)

  • British Society for Haematology

  • Lifeblood: The Thrombosis Charity

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • UK Clinical Pharmacy Association

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Haringey Primary Care Trust

  • Northumberland Care Trust

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Health Care Improvement Scotland

  • Leo Pharma

  • Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

  • National Clinical Guidelines Centre

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • Pfizer

  • Sanofi-Aventis

  • School of Health and Related Research Sheffield (ScHARR)

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on rivaroxaban by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Roopen Arya, Consultant Haematologist and Director, King's Thrombosis Centre, nominated by Bayer – clinical specialist

  • Dr David Bevan, Consultant Haematologist and Clinical Lead for Haemostasis & Thrombosis, nominated by Royal College of Pathologists and British Society for Haematology – clinical specialist

  • Ms Diane Eaton, nominated by Anticoagulation Europe – patient expert

  • Mrs Annya Stephens-Boal, nominated by Lifeblood: The Thrombosis Charity – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Bayer

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)