Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by the School of Health and Related Research (ScHARR), The University of Sheffield:

  • Davis S, Holmes M, Simpson E et al. Alteplase for the treatment of acute ischaemic stroke (review of technology appraisal 122), May 2012

B The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope. Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on alteplase by providing a written statement to the Committee. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

II Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • AntiCoagulation Europe UK

  • Association of British Neurologists

  • British Geriatrics Society

  • College of Emergency Medicine

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Physicians

III Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Medical Research Council

C The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on alteplase by providing oral evidence to the Committee.

  • Professor John Potter, Professor of Ageing and Stroke, University of East Anglia, nominated by the British Geriatric Society – clinical specialist

  • Professor Peter Sandercock, Professor of Medical Neurology, Western General Hospital, nominated by the Association of British Neurologists – clinical specialist

  • Dr Gavin Young, Consultant Neurologist, South Tees NHS Foundation Trust, nominated by the NICE Clinical Guidelines – clinical specialist

  • Joanie Scott, nominated by the Stroke Association – patient expert

  • Robert Yexley, nominated by the Stroke Association – patient expert

D Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee Meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)