Appendix B: Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by BMJ Technology Assessment Group (BMJ-TAG):

  • Edwards SJ, Hamilton V, Trevor N et al. Apixaban for the prevention of stroke and systemic embolism in people with non-valvular atrial fibrillation: A Single Technology Appraisal. BMJ-TAG, 2012.

B The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope. Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II gave their expert views on apixaban by providing a written statement to the Committee. Organisations listed in I, II and III have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I Manufacturer/sponsor

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb and Pfizer (apixaban)

II Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • AntiCoagulation Europe (ACE)

  • Anticoagulation Specialist Association (ASA)

  • Arrhythmia Alliance (AFA Affiliated)

  • Association of British Neurologists

  • Atrial Fibrillation Association (AFA)

  • British Association of Stroke Physicians

  • British Heart Foundation

  • British Society for Haematology

  • Clinical Leaders of Thrombosis (CLOT)

  • Heart Rhythm UK

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • United Kingdom Clinical Pharmacy Association

III Other consultees:

  • Berkshire PCT Cluster

  • Department of Health

  • Welsh Government

IV Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Bayer (rivaroxaban)

  • BMJ – TAG

  • Boehringer Ingelheim (dabigatran etexilate)

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • MRC Clinical Trials Unit

  • National Clinical Guidelines Centre

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

C The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on apixaban by providing oral evidence to the Committee.

  • Professor Gregory YH Lip, Consultant Cardiologist & Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, nominated by Bristol-Myers Squibb and Pfizer – clinical specialist

  • Dr Francis Murgatroyd, Director of Cardiac Electrophysiology, nominated by Heart Rhythm UK – clinical specialist

  • Dr Eric Watts, Hon Consulting Haematologist, nominated by the Royal College of Pathologists and the British Society for Haematology – clinical specialist

  • Mrs Jo Jerrome, Assistant Director, nominated by Atrial Fibrillation Association (AFA) – patient expert

  • Mrs Diane Eaton, Project Development Manager, nominated by AntiCoagulation Europe (ACE) – patient expert

D Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Bristol-Myers Squibb and Pfizer

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)