8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Aberdeen Health Technology Assessment Group:

  • Cummins E, Fielding S, Scott N et al. Eltrombopag for the treatment of chronic immune thrombocytopenic purpura (ITP): A Single Technology Appraisal (October 2012)

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • GlaxoSmithKline

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • British Blood Transfusion Society

  • British Society for Haematology

  • ITP Support Association

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS North Yorkshire and York

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • Amgen

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Roche

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the non-manufacturer/sponsor consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on eltrombopag by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Nichola Cooper, Consultant haematologist, Hammersmith Hospital, nominated by the ITP Support Association – clinical specialist

  • Dr Jennie Wimperis, Consultant haematologist, Norfolk and Norwich University Hospital, nominated by the ITP Support Association – clinical specialist

  • Chris Allen nominated by the ITP Support Association – patient expert

  • Shirley Watson, nominated by the ITP Support Association – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following manufacturer attended Committee Meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • GlaxoSmithKline

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)