7 Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

7.1 Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Amanda Adler (Chair)
Consultant Physician, Addenbrooke's Hospital

Professor Ken Stein (Vice Chair)
Professor of Public Health, University of Exeter Medical School

Dr Ray Armstrong
Consultant Rheumatologist, Southampton General Hospital

Dr Jeff Aronson
Reader in Clinical Pharmacology, University Department of Primary Health Care, University of Oxford

Professor John Cairns
Professor of Health Economics Public Health and Policy, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Matthew Campbell-Hill
Lay member

Dr Lisa Cooper
Echocardiographer, Stockport NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Maria Dyban
General Practitioner

Professor Fergus Gleeson
Consultant Radiologist, Churchill Hospital, Oxford

Robert Hinchliffe
HEFCE Clinical Senior Lecturer in Vascular Surgery and Honorary Consultant Vascular Surgeon, St George's Vascular Institute

Dr Neil Iosson
General Practitioner

Anne Joshua
Associate Director of Pharmacy, NHS Direct

Dr Rebecca Kearney
Clinical Lecturer, University of Warwick

Terence Lewis
Lay member

Dr Miriam McCarthy
Consultant, Public Health, Public Health Agency

Professor Ruairidh Milne
Director of Strategy and Development and Director for Public Health Research at the National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Evaluation, Trials and Studies Coordinating Centre at the University of Southampton

Dr Peter Norrie
Principal Lecturer in Nursing, DeMontfort University

Christopher O'Regan
Head of Health Technology Assessment and Outcomes Research, Merck Sharp and Dohme

Professor Stephen Palmer
Professor of Health Economics, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Sanjeev Patel
Consultant Physician and Senior Lecturer in Rheumatology, St Helier University Hospital

Dr John Pounsford
Consultant Physician, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Danielle Preedy
Lay member

Dr John Rodriguez
Assistant Director of Public Health, NHS Eastern and Coastal Kent

Alun Roebuck
Consultant Nurse in Critical and Acute Care, United Lincolnshire NHS Trust

Cliff Snelling
Lay member

Dr Nerys Woolacott
Senior Research Fellow, Centre for Health Economics, University of York

Dr Nicky Welton
Senior Lecturer in Biostatistics/Health Technology Assessment, University of Bristol

7.2 NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Anwar Jilani
Technical Lead

Raisa Sidhu
Technical Adviser

Jeremy Powell
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)