9 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The Evidence Review Group (ERG) report for this appraisal was prepared by Southampton Health Technology Assessments Centre (SHTAC), University of Southampton:

  • Copley V, Pickett K, Shepherd J, et al. Canagliflozin in combination therapy for treating type 2 diabetes, December 2013

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, the ERG report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I were also invited to make written submissions. Organisations listed in II and III had the opportunity to give their expert views. Organisations listed in I, II and III also have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Manufacturer/sponsor:

  • Janssen

II. Professional/specialist and patient/carer groups:

  • Association of British Clinical Diabetologists

  • Diabetes UK

  • National Diabetes Nurse Consultant Group

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Physicians

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (did not provide written evidence and without the right of appeal):

  • AstraZeneca

  • Boehringer Ingelheim

  • Commissioning Support Appraisal Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Eli Lilly UK

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Medicines and Healthcare Products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)

  • Merck Sharp and Dohme

  • National Clinical Guidelines Centre

  • National Institute for Health Research Health Technology Assessment Programme

  • Novo Nordisk

  • Pfizer

  • Sanofi

  • Southampton Health Technology Assessments Centre (SHTAC), University of Southampton

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical specialist and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They gave their expert personal view on canagliflozin by attending the initial Committee discussion and providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Professor David Matthews, Professor of Diabetes Medicine, nominated by an organisation representing Janssen – clinical specialist

  • Dr Thozhukat Sathyapalan, Reader/Honorary Consultant medical Consultant Endocrinologist, nominated by organisation representing Royal College of Physicians and Association of British Clinical Diabetologists – clinical specialist

E. Representatives from the following manufacturer/sponsor attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy.

  • Janssen

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)