8 Sources of evidence considered by the Committee

A. The assessment report for this appraisal was prepared by the Peninsula Technology Assessment Group, University of Exeter:

  • Crathorne L, Huxley N, Haasova M et al. The effectiveness and cost‑effectiveness of erythropoiesis‑stimulating agents (epoetin and darbepoetin) for treating cancer‑treatment induced anaemia (including review of TA142): a systematic review and economic model, January 2014

B. The following organisations accepted the invitation to participate in this appraisal as consultees and commentators. They were invited to comment on the draft scope, assessment report and the appraisal consultation document (ACD). Organisations listed in I, II and III were also invited to make written submissions and have the opportunity to appeal against the final appraisal determination.

I. Companies:

  • Amgen

  • Hospira

  • Janssen

  • Roche

  • Sandoz

II. Professional/expert and patient/carer groups:

  • British Society for Haematology

  • Leukaemia Cancer Society

  • Leukaemia CARE

  • Myeloma UK

  • Royal College of Nursing

  • Royal College of Pathologists

  • Royal College of Physicians

  • Target Ovarian Cancer

III. Other consultees:

  • Department of Health

  • NHS England

  • Welsh Government

IV. Commentator organisations (without the right of appeal):

  • Cochrane Haematological Malignancies Group

  • Commissioning Support Appraisals Service

  • Department of Health, Social Services and Public Safety for Northern Ireland

  • Healthcare Improvement Scotland

  • Hospital Information Services (Jehovah's Witnesses)

  • Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency

  • Medical Research Council (MRC) Clinical Trials Unit

C. The following individuals were selected from clinical expert and patient expert nominations from the consultees and commentators. They participated in the Appraisal Committee discussions and provided evidence to inform the Appraisal Committee's deliberations. They gave their expert personal view on erythropoiesis‑stimulating agents by attending the initial Committee discussion and/or providing written evidence to the Committee. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Dr Tim Littlewood, Consultant, Oxford University Hospitals, nominated by the Royal College of Pathologists – clinical expert

  • Ken Campbell, Scientific and Medical Education Specialist, Myeloma UK, nominated by Myeloma UK – patient expert

D. Representatives from the following companies attended Committee meetings. They contributed only when asked by the Committee chair to clarify specific issues and comment on factual accuracy. They were also invited to comment on the ACD.

  • Amgen

  • Sandoz

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)