6 Appraisal committee members, guideline representatives and NICE project team

Appraisal committee members

The appraisal committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 appraisal committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each appraisal committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each appraisal committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Dr Jane Adam (Chair)
Department of Diagnostic Radiology, St George's Hospital, London

Professor Iain Squire (Vice‑Chair)
Consultant Physician, University Hospitals of Leicester

Dr Graham Ash
Consultant in General Adult Psychiatry, Lancashire Care NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Gerardine Bryant
GP, Swadlincote, Derbyshire

Matthew Campbell‑Hil
Lay member

Dr Peter Heywood
Consultant Neurologist, Frenchay Hospital, Bristol

Dr Sharon Saint Lamont
Head of Clinical Quality, NHS England (North)

Mr Cliff Snelling
Lay member

Dr Ian Lewin
Honorary Consultant Physician and Endocrinologist, North Devon District Hospital

Dr Louise Longworth
Reader in Health Economics, HERG, Brunel University

Dr Alec Miners
Senior Lecturer in Health Economics, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Pamela Rees
Lay member

Dr Ann Richardson
Lay member

Dr Paul Robinson
Medical Director, Merck Sharp & Dohme

Ellen Rule
Director of Transformation and Service Redesign, Gloucestershire CCG

Stephen Sharp
Senior Statistician, University of Cambridge MRC Epidemiology Unit

Dr Peter Sims
GP, Devon

Dr John Watkins
Clinical Senior Lecturer, Cardiff University; Consultant in Public Health Medicine, National Public Health Service Wales

Professor Olivia Wu
Professor of Health Technology Assessment, University of Glasgow

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Mary Hughes
Technical Lead

Fay McCracken
Technical Adviser

Bijal Joshi
Project Manager

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)