7 Appraisal Committee members and NICE project team

Appraisal Committee members

The Appraisal Committees are standing advisory committees of NICE. Members are appointed for a 3‑year term. A list of the Committee members who took part in the discussions for this appraisal appears below. There are 4 Appraisal Committees, each with a chair and vice chair. Each Appraisal Committee meets once a month, except in December when there are no meetings. Each Committee considers its own list of technologies, and ongoing topics are not moved between Committees.

Committee members are asked to declare any interests in the technology to be appraised. If it is considered there is a conflict of interest, the member is excluded from participating further in that appraisal.

The minutes of each Appraisal Committee meeting, which include the names of the members who attended and their declarations of interests, are posted on the NICE website.

Professor Andrew Stevens
Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Professor of Public Health, University of Birmingham

Professor Eugene Milne
Vice Chair of Appraisal Committee C, Director of Public Health, City of Newcastle upon Tyne

Professor Kathryn Abel
Director of Centre for Women's Mental Health, University of Manchester

Dr David Black
Medical Director, NHS South Yorkshire and Bassetlaw

Dr Daniele Bryden
Consultant in Intensive Care Medicine and Anaesthesia, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust

Dr Andrew Burnett
Director for Health Improvement and Medical Director, NHS Barnet, London

David Chandler
Lay Member

Dr Mary Cooke
Lecturer, School of Nursing, Midwifery and Social Work, University of Manchester

Gail Coster
Advanced Practice Sonographer, Mid Yorkshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Professor Peter Crome
Honorary Professor, Department of Primary Care and Population Health, University College London

Professor Rachel A Elliott
Lord Trent Professor of Medicines and Health, University of Nottingham

Dr Greg Fell
Consultant in Public Health, Bradford and Airedale Primary Care Trust

Dr Wasim Hanif
Consultant Physician and Honorary Senior Lecturer, University Hospital Birmingham

Dr Alan Haycox
Reader in Health Economics, University of Liverpool Management School

Professor Cathy Jackson
Professor of Primary Care Medicine, University of St Andrews

Dr Peter Jackson
Clinical Pharmacologist, University of Sheffield

Dr Janice Kohler
Formerly Senior Lecturer and Consultant in Paediatric Oncology, Southampton University Hospitals Trust

Emily Lam
Lay Member

Dr Nigel Langford
Consultant in Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics and Acute Physician, Leicester Royal Infirmary

Dr Allyson Lipp
Principal Lecturer, University of South Wales

Dr Grant Maclaine
Director, Health Economics & Outcomes Research, BD, Oxford

Dr Andrea Manca
Health Economist and Senior Research Fellow, University of York

Henry Marsh
Consultant Neurosurgeon, St George's Hospital, London

Dr Suzanne Martin
Reader in Health Sciences

Dr Claire McKenna
Research Fellow in Health Economics, University of York

Dr Patrick McKiernan
Consultant Paediatrician, Birmingham Children's Hospital

Professor Gary McVeigh
Professor of Cardiovascular Medicine, Queens University Belfast and Consultant Physician, Belfast City Hospital

Dr Iain Miller
Founder & CEO, Health Strategies Group

Dr Paul Miller
Director, Payer Evidence, Astrazeneca UK Ltd

Professor Stephen O'Brien
Professor of Haematology, Newcastle University

Dr Anna O'Neill
Deputy Head of Nursing & Healthcare School/Senior Clinical University Teacher, University of Glasgow

Professor Katherine Payne
Professor of Health Economics, University of Manchester

Dr Martin Price
Head of Outcomes Research, Janssen-Cilag, Buckinghamshire

Alan Rigby
Academic Reader, University of Hull

Dr Peter Selby
Consultant Physician, Central Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust

Dr Surinder Sethi
Consultant in Public Health Medicine, North West Specialised Services Commissioning Team, Warrington

Dr John Stevens
Lecturer in Bayesian Statistics in Health Economics, School of Health and Related Research, Sheffield

Professor Matt Stevenson
Technical Director, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Dr Paul Tappenden
Reader in Health Economic Modelling, School of Health and Related Research, University of Sheffield

Professor Robert Walton
Clinical Professor of Primary Medical Care, Barts and The London School of Medicine and Dentistry

Dr Judith Wardle
Lay Member

NICE project team

Each technology appraisal is assigned to a team consisting of 1 or more health technology analysts (who act as technical leads for the appraisal), a technical adviser and a project manager.

Nwamaka Umeweni/Grace Jennings/Boglarka Mikudina
Technical Leads

Bhash Naidoo/ Nicola Hay
Technical Advisers

Lori Farrar/Nicole Fisher
Project Managers

  • National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE)